Symposium Sessions

Topical Clusters

  • Broader Impact
  • Characterization
  • Materials Computing and Data Science
  • Electronics, Optics and Quantum
  • Energy and Sustainability
  • Biomaterials and Soft Materials
  • Structural and Functional Materials

Symposium EN12—Advanced Materials and Chemistries for Low-Cost and Sustainable Batteries

Fast-growing energy needs and depleting fossil fuels urge the development of sustainable energy solutions, including both renewable energy resources and low cost storage technologies for a reliable, resilient and flexible energy future. Although lithium (Li)-ion batteries have enabled a rechargeable world and are one of widely applied techniques for electromobility and grid application, they are relatively expensive and raise concern on the sustainability because of the use of many critical elements. In contrast, battery chemistries based on earth-abundant and eco-efficient elements, such as sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg) and zinc (Zn), are promising options for battery applications. Nonetheless, such novel batteries are still at the research stage, where both electrochemistry investigation and material development require fundamental understanding. The goal of this symposium is to explore the common themes about low cost and sustainable batteries, and inspire new materials, chemistry, and functions through dialog between scientists and engineers engaged in both fundamental and applied research. To achieve this goal, this symposium will be organized around three thematic aspects: The first theme will be centered on the electrochemistry of eco-efficient and renewable battery techniques beyond the Li-based technologies. Second, the focus also will be on the engineering of advanced electrode/electrolyte materials that could prolong the cycle-life and sustainability of electrochemical reactions. Third, emphasis also will be on simulation and computation including machine learning and artificial intelligence that can harness the molecular and atomic-scale insights in the electrochemical processes to accelerate the discovery of new materials.

We believe that this symposium will provide a venue for fruitful interaction and exchange of ideas surrounding the unique material development, distinctive chemistry evaluation, and theoretical investigation in the context of low cost and sustainable batteries. The symposium will help to educate students and researchers nationally and globally in this important field of energy storage and conversion.

Topics will include:

  • Batteries beyond lithium-ion
  • Aqueous batteries
  • Solid-state batteries
  • Green battery materials and devices
  • Simulation and computation of battery chemistry
  • Machine learning and artificial intelligence-guided battery material development
  • Battery reliability and safety
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Lynden Archer (Cornell University, USA)
  • Oleg Borodin (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Laurence Croguennec (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Yi Cui (Stanford University, USA)
  • Marca Doeff (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Robert Dominko (National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia)
  • Bruce Dunn (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Kristina Edström (Uppsala University, Sweden)
  • Maria Forsyth (Deakin University, Australia)
  • Alejandro Franco (Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France)
  • Joel Gaubicher (Institut des Materiaux Jean Rouxel, France)
  • Liangbing Hu (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Shinichi Komaba (Waseda University, Japan)
  • Hyun-Wook Lee (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Jun Lu (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yunfeng Lu (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Arumugam Manthiram (The University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • David Mitlin (The University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Shyue Ping Ong (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Stefano Passerini (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Mauro Pasta (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Debra Rolison (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Xueliang Sun (Western University, Canada)
  • Esther Takeuchi (Stony Brook University, The State University of New York, USA)
  • Margret Wohlfahrt-Mehrens (Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg, Germany)
  • Guiliang Xu (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yan Yao (University of Houston, USA)
  • Chunyi Zhi (City University of Hong Kong, China)

Symposium Organizers

Weiyang Li
Dartmouth College
Thayer School of Engineering

Dominic Bresser
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Seok Woo Lee
Nanyang Technological University

Xiaolin Li
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Energy Processes and Materials Division

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support