Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium CH01-In Situ and Operando Techniques Applied to Electrochemical Systems—A Key Toolkit for Deep Understanding

The increase of global Earth’s temperature is linked generally to greenhouse gas emission that never ceased to increase during the last century. E-mobility and storage are the leitmotif to reduce directly the amount of CO2 emission. In both cases, batteries might play a key role to reduce the greenhouse emission. To date, Li and post-Li ion batteries are intensively studied and their deep investigations by sophisticated techniques, in particular operando, are crucial to solve all the issues. Data gathered from advanced operando techniques, at large scale facilities or in-house, are crucial only if they are obtained from reliable electrochemical cells that mimic properly the real operation of battery materials, which is never an easy task. Hence, the design of such cells has to be fit to the technique of choice and meet all the necessary requirements. Once a proper design is found, the surface, the bulk, the interfaces, and finally the combination of those can be studied simultaneously and lead to the elucidation of complex reaction mechanisms, thus further improving the battery technology. This symposium will focus on the current progress made in the field of advanced in situ and operando characterizations (experimentally and theoretically) with a special focus on the understanding and improvement of bulk-to-interfacial issues including also safety aspects. Worldwide specialists will present new science, techniques, data analysis and propose a deeper understanding of electrochemical energy-based system beyond the state-of-the-art.

Topics will include:

  • Electrochemical energy processes
  • Batteries, supercapacitors, Li-ion batteries and post-Li ion batteries
  • X-ray and neutron-based methods
  • Special electrochemical cell design
  • Data processing, machine learning and data analytics
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Daniel Abraham (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Hajime Arai (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Erik Berg (Uppsala University, Sweden)
  • Jordi Cabana (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
  • Montse Casas Cabanas (CIC energiGUNE, Spain)
  • Isodora Cekic-Laskovic (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Karena Chapman (Stony Brook University, The State University of New York, USA)
  • Miaofang Chi (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jean-Noël Chotard (Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France)
  • Raphaële Clément (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Jakub Drnec (European Synchrotron Radiation Facilities (ESRF), France)
  • Helmut Ehrenberg (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • François Fauth (ALBA Synchrotron, Spain)
  • Gillian Goward (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Clare Grey (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Kent Griffith (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Laurence Hardwick (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom)
  • Brett Lucht (University of Rhode Island, USA)
  • Sandrine Lyonnard (Commissariat à l'énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives, France)
  • Ingo Manke (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Aleksandar Matic (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Vanessa Peterson (Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation, Australia)
  • Yang Shao-Horn (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Neeraj Sharma (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Paul Shearing (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Lorenzo Stievano (Université de Montpellier, France)
  • Emmanuelle Suard (Institut Laue-Langevin, France)
  • Marnix Wagemaker (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Huolin Xin (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Wolfgang Zeier (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany)

Symposium Organizers

Claire Villevieille
Laboratoire d'Electrochimie et Physico-chimie des Matériaux et des Interfaces

Kristina Edström
Uppsala University
Department of Chemistry - Ångström Laboratory, Structural Chemistry

Christian Masquelier
Université de Picardie Jules Verne
Laboratoire de Réactivité et de Chimie des Solides (LRSC)

Shirley Meng
University of California, San Diego

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support