Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium CH02-Solid-State Chemistry of New Materials

Chemistry plays a central role in the development and characterization of new inorganic materials. From developing synthetic techniques that make new families of materials available to elucidating fundamental correlations between the crystal structure and functionality, solid state chemistry unifies researchers across several disciplines. This symposium will explore these diverse fields with a special focus on how the underlying chemistry of new materials dictates their physical properties. These sessions will provide a forum where experimental and computational materials chemists can discuss the current state-of-the-art in materials design and characterization. Contributions that use detailed structure and property characterization are encouraged, particularly when supported by electronic structure calculations.

Topics will include:

  • Photocatalysis
  • Solid state lighting
  • Hydrogen production
  • Crystal chemistry
  • X-ray and neutron scattering
  • Thermoelectrics
  • Dielectrics, ferroelectrics, and multiferroics

Invited Speakers:

  • Ryu Abe (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Kanishka Biswas (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India)
  • Eric Bloch (University of Delaware, USA)
  • Laurent Cario (Institut des Matériaux Jean Rouxel, France)
  • Laurence Croguennec (Institut de Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Bordeaux, France)
  • Michele Dolgos (University of Calgary, Canada)
  • Richard Dronskowski (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Duncan Gregory (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom)
  • Shintaro Ishiwata (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Kim Jelfs (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Houria Kabbour (University of Lille, France)
  • Hemamala Karunadasa (Stanford University, USA)
  • Sung-Wng Kim (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Yoji Kobayashi (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Kirill Kovnir (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Antoine Maignan (ENSICAEN, France)
  • Jarad Mason (Harvard University, USA)
  • James Neilson (Colorado State University, USA)
  • Ryo Ohtani (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Wendy Queen (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • James Rondinelli (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Kate Ross (Colorado State University, USA)
  • Kimberly See (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Natalia Shustova (University of South Carolina, USA)
  • Sara Thoi (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Sayaka Uchida (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Luisa Whittaker-Brooks (The University of Utah, USA)
  • John Wiley (The University of New Orleans, USA)
  • Taner Yildirim (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Brent Melot
University of Southern California

Craig Brown
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Amparo Fuertes
Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona

Hiroshi Kageyama
Kyoto University
Dept. of Energy & Hydrocarbon Chemistry

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support