Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium EN02-Solid-State Batteries—Electrodes, Electrolytes and Interphases

Rechargeable batteries have succeeded in powering portable electronics and small electric tools, but they face the challenges of safety, cost, and energy density for the needs of electrification of transportation and large-scale energy storage. With the energy density of the conventional lithium ion batteries approaching its physicochemical limit, tremendous efforts are being made to revive solid state batteries that can potentially offer high safety, high energy density and high power density. Over the past few years, there have been significant efforts to understand and address the key challenges in each component of solid-state batteries, including solid electrolytes, cathode composites, lithium metal anodes, and electrode/electrolyte interphases. Meanwhile, good progress has also been made in understanding the failure mechanisms of solid-state batteries with the aid of advanced characterization techniques and computation/modeling. However, key challenges remain unsolved for the full-scale commercialization of solid-state batteries including materials, interfaces, characterization, manufacturing, etc.

The aim of the symposium is to highlight and discuss recent advances in fundamental materials science that focuses on solid state batteries. This symposium covers materials discovery and innovation (electrolytes, electrodes, and interphases), device integration, advanced characterizations, and predictive computation and modeling. The symposium will promote a multi-disciplinary approach to understand the degradation mechanism of SSBs and to develop safer and more reliable batteries for various applications.

Topics will include:

  • Interfaces and Interphases
  • Solid Electrolytes
  • Cathode Composites
  • Li Anodes
  • Cell Architecture and Fabrication
  • Advanced Characterization
  • Computational Modeling and Design

Invited Speakers:

  • Javier Carrasco (CIC energiGUNE, Spain)
  • Neil P. Dasgupta (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Nancy Dudney (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Kelsey B. Hatzell (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Akitoshi Hayashi (Osaka Prefecture University, Japan)
  • M. Saiful Islam (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
  • Yoon Seok Jung (Yonsei University, Republic of Korea)
  • Hong Li (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Ping Liu (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Dongping Lu (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Steve Martin (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Matthew T. McDowell (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Linda Nazar (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Yue Qi (Brown University, USA)
  • Andy Xueliang Sun (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Eric D. Wachsman (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Marnix Wagemaker (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Chunsheng Wang (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Donghai Wang (The Pennsylvaia State University, USA)
  • Yan Wang (Samsung Research America, USA)
  • Jihui Yang (University of Washington, USA)
  • Xiayin Yao (Ningbo Institute of Materials Technology and Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Yan Yao (University of Huston, USA)
  • Wolfgang Zeier (Justus-Liebig-Universität Giessen, Germany)
  • Pu Zhang (Solid Power, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Fudong Han
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Montse Casas Cabanas
CIC energiGUNE

Huilin Pan
Zhejiang University
Department of Chemistry

Yuyan Shao
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support