Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium EQ10-Multiferroics and Magnetoelectrics

As the electronics reaching the physical limits to scaling, the integration of multi-functional materials has never been more important. Multiferroics, in which two or more ferroic (ferroelectric, ferro/anti-ferro magnetic, ferroelastic, etc.) orders co-exist, enables non-volatile voltage control of spin degrees of freedom that is crucial for the ultra-low-power computing, spin transistors and the universal memory. Evidently, these materials also offer a remarkable platform to study new phenomena in materials science, condensed matter physics and electronics. Our symposium will highlight the recent progress in this continuously growing field including the predictions of new multiferroics, multiscale modeling of the magnetoelectric interfaces, new emergent phenomena, heterogenous integration, direct imaging of ferroic domains, voltage control of spin-to-charge conversion and chiral spin textures (e.g., vortices, Skyrmions), magnetoelectric antennas and magnetic field sensors, and new concepts in magnetoelectric memory. This interdisciplinary symposium will bring together a diverse host of experts across academia, national laboratories and industry to discuss the recent development in theory, synthesis, characterizations, devices as well as the opportunities and challenges in the on-chip integration of multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials. The symposium aims to promote communications and discussions among material scientists, physicists, and electrical engineers for accelerating the development of multiferroic materials for electronic, spintronic and sensoric applications.

Topics will include:

  • Computation-guided discovery of new multiferroics
  • Hybrid spin-orbit torque magnetoelectric structures and device applications
  • Magnetoelectric sensors, antennas, and energy harvesters
  • New concepts for magnetoelectric memory devices
  • Multiscale modeling of multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials and devices
  • Magnon-phonon interactions in multiferroics and magnetoelectrics
  • Magnetoelectric thin-films, nanostructures and membranes
  • Advanced imaging techniques for multiferroics and magnetoelectrics
  • Voltage control of magnetization and spin textures
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Agnès Barthélémy (CNRS/Thales, France)
  • Laurent Bellaiche (University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, USA)
  • Manuel Bibes (CNRS/Thales, France)
  • Christian Binek (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • Longqing Chen (The Pennsylvaia State University, USA)
  • Sang-Wook Cheong (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Kathrin Dörr (Martin-Luther-Universität-Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
  • Judith Driscoll (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Changbeom Eom (University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA)
  • Manfred Fiebig (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Peter Fischer (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Martina Gerken (Kiel University, Germany)
  • Quanxi Jia (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, USA)
  • Hwaider Lin (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Ming Liu (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  • Jing Ma (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Sasikanth Manipatruni (Intel Corporation, USA)
  • Lane Martin (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Jeffrey McCord (Kiel University, Germany)
  • Julia Mundy (Harvard University, USA)
  • Yoshichika Otani (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Michael Page (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Xiaoqing Pan (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Ramamoorthy Ramesh (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Caroline Ross (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Christine Selhuber-Unkel (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  • Jean-Marc Triscone (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
  • Evgeny Tsymbal (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • Kang L. Wang (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Tianxiang Nan
Tsinghua Univeristy
Institute of Microelectronics

Jiamian Hu
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Eckhard Quandt
University of Kiel

Nian X. Sun
Northeastern University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support