Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium EQ16-Infrared and Thermal Photonic Materials and Their Applications

This symposium addresses emerging material challenges in the field of infrared and thermal photonics. The symposium overviews recent cutting-edge advances in emergent material properties, photonic design, light-materials interaction at the nanoscale, and novel device platforms across mid and far infrared wavelength spectra. The symposium covers fundamental materials science, promising applications, and novel fabrication techniques.

Infrared radiation harnessing plays an increasingly important role in a diverse range of applications from energy harvesting to imaging and spectroscopy to heat management. Further progress necessitates novel material platforms for more efficient control of radiation across this part of electromagnetic spectrum to enable systems with higher performance, smaller size, increased speed, tunability, and lower energy. The recent discoveries of two-dimensional materials, materials with tunable optical properties, advances with metamaterials, polaritonic crystals, electronic bad engineering and doped semiconductors can enable breakthrough solutions for infrared photonic applications.

Topics will include:

  • Graphene and other 2D materials with strong mid-IR responses
  • Small band gap and topological materials
  • Infrared materials with near-zero permittivity and hyperbolic dispersion
  • Dynamically switchable and phase change materials
  • Materials and structures for radiative heat management
  • Near-field radiative heat transfer
  • Surface phonon polaritons and other excitations
  • Advances in thermophotovoltaics
  • Infrared imaging and spectroscopy
  • Sources and detectors of infrared radiation
  • Thermally emissive materials
  • Energy harvesting and sustainability
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Hatice Altug (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Viktoriia Babicheva (The University of New Mexico, USA)
  • Philippe Ben-Abdallah (Institut d'Optique, France)
  • Alexandra Boltasseva (Purdue University, USA)
  • Igal Brenner (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Juan Carlos Cuevas (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Sheila Edalatpour (University of Maine System, USA)
  • Stavroula Foteinopoulou (The University of New Mexico, USA)
  • Francisco Javier Garcia de Abajo (Institut de Ciències Fotòniques, Spain)
  • Jean-Jacques Greffet (Institut d'Optique, France)
  • Tony Heinz (Stanford University, USA)
  • Rainer Hillenbrand (CIC nanoGUNE, Spain)
  • Frank Koppens (ICFO – The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  • Alexey Kuzmenko (Université de Genève, Switzerland)
  • Andrej Lenert (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Tony Low (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Laurent Pilon (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Michelle Povinelli (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Pramod Reddy (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Aaron Sternbach (Columbia University, USA)
  • Giulia Tagliabue (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Jason Valentine (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Virginia Wheeler (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Zongfu Yu (University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA)
  • Mona Zebarjadi (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Bo Zhao (Stanford University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Artur Davoyan
University of California, Los Angeles
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Svetlana Boriskina
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Zhe Fei
Iowa State University of Science and Technology

Georgia Papadakis
ICFO – Institute of Photonic Sciences

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support