2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium MT04-Advanced Materials Exploration with Neutrons

Thanks to the unique scattering cross sections of neutrons, the neutron scattering technique has played an important role in materials research. In the recent years, with the advent of the new generation of neutron sources around the world, it is possible to conduct elastic and inelastic scattering experiments with extremely high accuracy, which, in principle, allows us to examine far more detailed predictions from theories and modeling than ever and to discover new physics. This symposium will focus on the forefront of advanced materials characterizations using cutting-edge neutron scattering experimental tools.

Topics will include:

  • Quantum Materials and Condensed Matter
  • Soft and Biological Materials
  • Energy and Engineering Materials
  • Neutron Source, Instrumentation, and Software
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Hui Wu (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Katharine Page (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Megan Robertson (University of Houston, USA)
  • Matthew Tirrell (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Pappannan Thiyagarajan (Department of Energy, USA)
  • Olivier Delaire (Duke University, USA)
  • Ken Andersen (European Spallation Source, Sweden)
  • Rana Ashkar (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA)
  • Hassina Bilheux (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Craig Brown (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)
  • Wei Chen (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Sung-Min Choi (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Peter Falus (Institut Laue-Langevin, France)
  • Tatiana Guidi (ISIS Pulsed Neutron and Muon Source, Science & Technology Facilities Council, United Kingdom)
  • Sara Haravifard (Duke University, USA)
  • Monica Hartl (European Spallation Source, Sweden)
  • Matthew Helgeson (University of California at Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Brent Heuser (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Nikolay Kardjilov (Hemnholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Elizabeth Kelley (National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA)
  • Boris Khaykovich (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Paul Langan (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Seunghun Lee (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Li Liu (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Gregory MacDougall (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Martin Mourigal (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Bradley Olsen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Kate Ross (Colorado State University, USA)
  • Stephen Wilson (University of California at Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Andrey Zheludev (Laboratorium für Festkörperphysik, ETH Hönggerberg, Switzerland)

Symposium Organizers

Yang Zhang
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Department of Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Victoria Garcia-Sakai
Science and Technology Facilities Council
United Kingdom

Kenneth Herwig
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Despina Louca
University of Virginia
Department of Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature