S23 Landing Banner

Symposium CH02-Utilizing Advanced In Situ/Operando Transmission Electron Microscopy and Spectroscopy for the Investigation of Functional, Energy and Quantum Materials

In situ/operando transmission electron microscopy (TEM) is a promising technique to investigate functional materials and devices down to the atomic scale under the influence of a controlled stimulus. By using heat, stress, light, electric or magnetic fields, or even gas or liquid atmospheres inside a TEM, it is possible to capture phase transitions, and other dynamic processes, aiming at understanding about device operation mechanisms in their proposed working environments. However, the implementation of traditional in situ TEM experiments is challenging due to difficult sample preparation and set up, specimen instability and fragility under high-energy electron beam exposure. The recent development of MEMS-based in situ TEM holders presents a significant advancement in comparison with previously available technologies and have greatly increased the experimental possibilities of TEM systems. Moreover, the progress in advanced spectroscopy, electron detector, and cryo- microscopy techniques enable us to observe the structural and chemical dynamics within material interfaces and devices under actual working conditions with high spatial resolution and low electron dose, which are extremely helpful for investigating beam sensitive materials such as 2D materials, batteries materials, soft matter, and quantum materials. This symposium focuses on the recent advances and developments of utilizing in situ/operando TEM techniques and spectroscopy in the study of functional, energy and quantum materials.

Topics will include:

  • Advances in (Cryo-) S/TEM study of beam sensitive materials at low-energy and low-dose beam conditions
  • Characterization of electrode-electrolyte interfaces including solid-electrolyte interphase (SEI), cathode-electrolyte interphase (CEI), and solid-solid interface in solid state batteries.

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Miryam Arredondo (Queen's University Belfast, Ireland)
  • Judy Cha (Cornell University, USA)
  • Renchao Che (Fudan University, China)
  • Aiping Chen (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Miaofang Chi (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Michele Conroy (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Peter Crozier (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Elizabeth Dickey (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Vinayak Dravid (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Lin Gu (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Sarah Haigh (The University of Manchester, United Kingdom)
  • Juan Carlos Idrobo (University of Washington, USA)
  • Yuichi Ikuhara (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Sungkyu Kim (Sejong University, Republic of Korea)
  • James LeBeau (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Yuzhang Li (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Anmin Nie (Yanshan University, China)
  • Xiaoqing Pan (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Naoya Shibata (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Steven R. Spurgeon (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Eric Stach (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Yunlong Tang (Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Jianbo Wu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
  • Huolin Xin (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Xiuzhen Yu (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Haimei Zheng (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yimei Zhu (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yinlian Zhu (Songshan Lake Materials Laboratory-Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Symposium Organizers

Di Zhang
Los Alamos National Laboratory
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Qianqian Li
Shanghai University
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Leopoldo Molina-Luna
Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Yaobin Xu
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support