S23 Landing Banner

Symposium EN04-Beyond 20% Efficiencies with Organic Solar Cell Devices

The organic semiconductor community has witnessed a rapid increase of the power conversion efficiency (PCE) of organic solar cells (OSCs). This is largely due to the introduction of properly designed non-fullerene acceptors, NFAs, replacing formerly used soluble fullerene derivatives. Single junction OSCs with PCEs of above 19 % have been reported, slowly closing the gap to other thin film PV technologies. Nevertheless, the understanding of the fundamental processes limiting the device performance is still insufficient. Also, with commercialisation of this technology in reach, other issues such as upscaling and stability move into the focus of research. Finally, the facile tuning of the bandgap of organic semiconductors makes them attractive partners to be combined with other materials in multijunction solar cells. This symposium endeavours to gather leading experts from around the world to discuss and resolve processes that limit or assist photocurrent and photovoltage generation in state of the art organic solar cells, but will also address issues related to the application to these fascinating materials in single- and multijunction devices.

Topics will include:

  • Design of materials - small bandgap materials
  • The quantum nature of interfacial excitations
  • Charge carrier generation and recombination - from femtoseconds to steady state
  • Non-thermal processes in generation and recombination
  • Novel experimental and theoretical approaches to exciton and charge carrier dynamics
  • Multicomponent blends
  • Advancement of analytical models and characterization methods
  • 3D device simulations
  • Multijunction devices and novel cell architectures
  • Concepts to beat the Shockley Queisser limit
  • Semi-transparent solar cells
  • Device reliability and degradation
  • Upscaling
  • Sustainability

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Tayebeh Ameri (The University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Thomas Anthopoulos (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Ardalan Armin (Swansea University, United Kingdom)
  • Natalie Banerji (University of Bern, Switzerland)
  • Christoph J. Brabec (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  • Mariano Campoy-Quiles (Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona, Spain)
  • Brian A. Collins (Washington State University, USA)
  • Alexander J. Gillett (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Ivan Kassal (The University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Weiwei Li (Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Xinhui Lu (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Jenny Nelson (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Chad Risko (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Safa Shoaee (University of Potsdam, Germany)
  • Keisuke Tajima (RIKEN Center for Emergent Matter Science (CEMS), Japan)
  • Tao Wang (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Yingping Zou (Central South University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Dieter Neher
University of Potsdam
Soft Matter Physics and Optoelectronics, Institute of Physics and Astronomy
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Derya Baran
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
Saudi Arabia

Thuc-Quyen Nguyen
University of California, Santa Barbara
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

Oskar Sandberg
Swansea University
Sustainable Advanced Materials (Sêr-SAM), Department of Physics
United Kingdom
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support