2019 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit

Symposium QN02-Defects, Electronic and Magnetic Properties in Advanced 2D Materials Beyond Graphene

Two-dimensional (2D) layered materials such as transition-metal dichalcogenides, Mxenes, BN, topological insulators, and phosphorene have received a great deal of research interest due to their outstanding optoelectronic and catalytic properties. However, further progress on these materials is limited by unwanted introduction of defects during the growth process. That poses a major challenge in reproducing these properties widely. Particularly, this problem gets severe when researchers grow these materials on large scale. If we were to use these materials beyond CMOS technology, it is necessary to identify and elucidate the influence of these defects on the fundamental physical properties and potential applications. Some of these defects can be detrimental for next generation optoelectronic applications. On the other hand, some of the defects can be exploited to induce and enhance functionalities such as improved catalysis and magnetism. Specifically, if the defects contain unpaired electron spins, they also can exhibit magnetic properties. Though not extensively explored, a sizeable amount of work was done in the community in exploring the magnetic properties of 2D materials.

This symposium will focus on the atomic identification of defects present in the pristine and processed (doping with transitional metals, alloying, intercalation, and upon high-energy ion radiation) 2D layered materials using a wide range of experimental and computational tools. The principal goal of this symposium is to bring together both experimentalists and theorists practicing the physics, chemistry, and materials science and engineering aspects of these materials while investigating the defects, electronic and the magnetic properties. This symposium will cover a wide variety of experimental probes such as electron spin resonance spectroscopy, scanning tunneling microscopy, transmission electron microscopy, x-ray photo absorption spectroscopy, operando experimental methodologies, and DFT and ab initio computational tools. In addition, this symposium will present the latest advances on the magnetic properties of 2D materials and devices using conventional magnetometry, x-ray magnetic circular dichroism, and magneto optical Kerr effect. With a mix of young scientists and established leaders in the field as invited speakers, the symposium will capture the new and most impactful developments and simultaneously, enable researchers to receive a deeper perception of this rich field and outline the grand challenges and opportunities. This symposium is expected to generate one of the largest audiences in the Spring meeting, giving young scholars greater opportunity to advance their research in the rapidly growing field of research.

Topics will include:

  • Atomic identification and elucidation of defects using electron spin resonance spectroscopy
  • Determination of the chemical and atomic structure of the defects using transmission electron microscopy
  • Determination of the electronic nature of defects using scanning tunneling microscopy
  • Determination of the magnetic and electronic structure of the defects using In-situ and operando characterizations of defects
  • Prediction of the chemical and atomic structure of the detects coupled with their macroscale magnetic and electronic properties using DFT and ab initio computational methodologies to complement experimental efforts
  • Understanding the electronic and magnetic properties of 2D materials using electron spin resonance spectroscopy, conventional magnetometry, and magneto-optical Kerr effect measurements
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Joan Redwing (The Pennsylvnia State University, USA)
  • Ute Kaiser (Ulm University, Germany)
  • Alex Zettl (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Yuanbo Zhang (Fudan University, China)
  • Xiang Zhang (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Steven Louie (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Nicola Marzari (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Pulickel Ajayan (Rice University, USA)
  • Matthias Batzill (University of Southern Florida, USA)
  • Claudia Cardoso (International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, Portugal)
  • Roland Kawakami (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Changgu Lee (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Yongqing Li (Institute of Physics,Chinese Academy of Science, China)
  • McGuire Michael (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • David Muller (Cornell University, USA)
  • Cedomir Petrovic (Brookhaven National laboratory, USA)
  • Ashwin Ramasubramaniam (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • Andre Stresmans (University of Leuven, Belgium)
  • Xiaodong Xu (University of Washington, USA)
  • Boris Yakobson (Rice University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Srinivasa Rao Singamaneni
The University of Texas at El Paso

Nasim Alem
The Pennsylvania State University
Materials Science Engineering

Jian-Hao Chen
Peking University
International Center for Quantum Materials, School of Physics

Oleg Yazyev
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Institute of Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature