2021 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

Symposium NM03-Topological and Quantum Phenomena in Intermetallic Compounds and Heterostructures

Intermetallic compounds host a broad range of quantum, topological, and multiferroic phenomena, including chiral spin textures, Weyl and Dirac states, novel superconductivity, heavy fermion behavior, ferroelasticity, and magnetocaloric behavior. This diverse range of properties rivals that of the well-studied transition metal oxides; however, outstanding challenges remain in controlling stoichiometry and defects, fabricating atomically precise interfaces, and characterizing the fundamental electronic and magnetic structures. This symposium will explore common themes across the various families of intermetallics, including Heusler compounds, lacunar spinels, Weyl semimetals, rare earth compounds, skyrmion compounds, and others. We welcome submission on bulk crystal and epitaxial film growth, advanced characterization, materials prediction/design, and new device concepts.

Topics will include:

  • Heusler compounds
  • Weyl and Dirac semimetals
  • Heavy fermion compounds
  • Bulk and interfacial skyrmions, chiral spin textures
  • 2D magnets
  • Spintronics
  • Defects, strain and interface engineering
  • Half metallic ferromagnets
  • Unconventional and topological superconductivity
  • Ferroelasticity, shape memory effect, magnetocalorics
  • Magnetocalorics
  • Topological Kondo insulators
  • Anomalous Hall and Spin Hall effect in intermetallics and connection to Nodal Lines

Invited Speakers:

  • Ana Akrap (University of Fribourg, Switzerland)
  • Christina Birkel (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Ken Burch (Boston College, USA)
  • Nicholas Butch (National Insitute of Standards and Technology, USA)
  • Jennifer Cano (Stony Brook University, The State University of New York, USA)
  • Claudia Felser (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Germany)
  • M. Zahid Hasan (Princeton University, USA)
  • Jennifer Hoffman (Harvard University, USA)
  • Roni Ilan (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
  • Na-Hyun Jo (Ames Laboratory, USA)
  • Roland Kawakami (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Javier Landaeta (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, USA)
  • Tyrel McQueen (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Emilia Morosan (Rice University, USA)
  • Katja Nowack (Cornell University, USA)
  • Johnpierre Paglione (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Chris Palmstrom (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Stuart Parkin (Max Plack Institute Halle, Germany)
  • Karin Rabe (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA)
  • Ram Seshadri (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Susanne Stemmer (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Valentin Taufour (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Yoshinori Tokura (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Masaki Uchida (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Maia Vergniory (Donostia International Physics Center, Spain)
  • Roland Weisendanger (Universität Hamburg, Germany)
  • Binghai Yan (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Youichi Yanase (Kyoto University, Japan)

Symposium Organizers

Jason Kawasaki
University of Wisconsin–Madison
Materials Science and Engineering

Elena Hassinger
Technische Universität München
Physics of Unconventional Metals and Superconductors (MPRG)

Anderson Janotti
University of Delaware
Materials Science and Engineering

Lukas Muechler
Flatiron Institute

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support