F20 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium F.SF03-New Frontiers in the Design, Fabrication and Application of Metamaterials

Metamaterials are artificial composite materials that enable exotic properties not easily obtainable or unavailable in nature through structural designs. The concept of metamaterials was successfully developed in electromagnetics and optics, and rapidly expanded to other fields including mechanics, acoustics, and thermodynamics. Most recently, quantum metamaterials and topological metamaterials have been demonstrated, which allow us to explore intriguing phenomena beyond the classical regime. The further development of metamaterials requires collective effort in many aspects, ranging from the fundamental physics, to new design approaches, novel fabrication techniques and practical applications. This symposium aims at bringing together researchers with diverse background from physics, materials science, engineering and manufacturing, to share recent breakthroughs in metamaterials across different disciplines, identify critical issues, and exchange ideas for future directions.

Topics will include:

  • Fundamental Theory, Emerging Concepts and New Design Approaches:
  • Topological metamaterials
  • Nonreciprocal and non-Hermitian photonic metamaterials
  • Quantum metamaterials
  • Multi-functional metamaterials with desired optical, mechanical, thermal and acoustic properties
  • Deep learning in metamaterial designs
  • Design of metamaterials across different scales
  • Novel Architectures, Devices and Applications:
  • Atomically-thin metasurfaces
  • 2D and 3D metamaterials by self-assembly
  • Additive and subtractive manufacturing of metamaterials
  • Plasmonic and resonant dielectric nano-tweezers
  • Super-resolution imaging
  • Biomedical diagnostics and sensing applications
  • Energy applications, such as radiative control, thermophotovoltaics, catalysis and desalination

Invited Speakers:

  • Andrea Alù (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Federico Capasso (Harvard University, USA)
  • Che Ting Chan (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
  • Kenneth Crozier (University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Liang Feng (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Vivian Ferry (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Julia Greer (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Na Laura Liu (Heidelberg University, Germany)
  • Zhengyou Liu (Wuhan University, China)
  • Bumki Min (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Namkyoo Park (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Romain Quidant (ICFO–The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  • Henning Schomerus (Lancaster University, United Kingdom)
  • Mordechai Segev (Physics Department and Solid State Institute, Israel)
  • Vladimir Shalaev (Purdue University, USA)
  • Gennady Shvets (Cornell University, USA)
  • Jelena Vučković (Stanford University, USA)
  • Nanfang Yu (Columbia University, USA)
  • Anatoly Zayats (King's College London, United Kingdom)
  • Baile Zhang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Xiaoyu Zhang (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Xin Zhang (Boston University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yongmin Liu
Northeastern University
Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Jennifer Dionne
Stanford University
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Justus C. Ndukaife
Vanderbilt University
Department of Electrical and Computer Science

Shuang Zhang
University of Birmingham
School of Physics and Astronomy
United Kingdom

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support