Symposium EL05-Materials and Devices for Neuromorphics, Biohybrid Systems and Smart Sensing

The symposium aims to cover the latest advancements in inorganic and organic materials for bio-inspired information processing, bio-computation, and biosensing, showcasing emerging applications in neuromorphic computing, sensing, actuation, and nanoscale bio-interfacing, along with recent advancements in algorithmic development. To highlight the importance of elements with simultaneous memory and processing capabilities towards in-memory computing, local adaptive bio-interfaces, emphasizing fundamental materials properties, novel devices harnessing physical emergent phenomena, new computing paradigms enabled by unconventional materials, and theory and simulation on materials, devices, and architectures.

Topics will include:

  • Bioinspired information processing
  • Neuromorphic computing
  • Computational primitives for neuromorphic engineering
  • Inorganic and organic materials for neuromorphic devices
  • Neuromorphic sensing and actuation
  • Adaptive bio-interfacing
  • Neural interface devices
  • Memristive materials/devices at the interface with biology
  • Bioelectronics, smart sensors and actuators
  • Neuromorphic and memristive sensors and actuators
  • Systems neuroscience
  • Algorithmic advances for neuro-inspired computing and smart sensing
  • Algorithm-hardware co-design for neuro-inspired computing

Invited Speakers:

  • Fabio Biscarini (Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy)
  • Sandro Carrara (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Erika Covi (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Regina Dittmann (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Simone Fabiano (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Dimitra Georgiadou (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)
  • Aristide Gumyusenge (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Feng Guo (Indiana University, USA)
  • Hadi Heidari (University of Glasgow, United Kingdom)
  • Sahika Inal (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • Zeinab Jahed (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Dmitry Kireev (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • Geert Langereis (imec, Netherlands)
  • Tae-Woo Lee (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • George Malliaras (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Dante Gabriel Muratore (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Robert Nawrocki (Purdue University, USA)
  • Andreas Offenhaeusser (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Themis Prodromakis (University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom)
  • Shahab Rezaei-Mazinani (École des Mines de Saint-Étienne, France)
  • Jacob Robinson (Rice University, USA)
  • Alberto Salleo (Stanford University, USA)
  • John Paul Strachan (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Alec Talin (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Ilia Valov (Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Germany)
  • Stefano Vassanelli (University of Padova, Italy)
  • Sihong Wang (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Joshua Yang (University of Southern California, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Ioulia Tzouvadaki
Ghent University
Department of Electronics and Information Systems
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Paschalis Gkoupidenis
Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research
Molecular Electronics

Francesca Santoro

Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH

49-2461/61-8786, [email protected]

Yoeri van de Burgt
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Institute for Complex Molecular Systems

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature