Symposium EL07-Emerging Material Platforms and Fundamental Approaches for Plasmonics, Nanophotonics, and Metasurfaces

The symposium will explore emerging topics in plasmonics, nanophotonics, metamaterials, and metasurfaces to overcome limitations in practical photonic device development. It aims to provide an overview of recent advancements in design concepts, material platforms, fabrication techniques, and their promising applications. Novel approaches in plasmonics and metasurfaces offer great potential for generating, processing, sensing, and detecting signals at the nanometer scale in diverse fields such as photovoltaics, optical communications, quantum information processing, bioimaging, lighting, sensing, chemistry, and medicine. The recent discovery of new plasmonic materials, layered materials, and two-dimensional materials with desirable properties like low loss, tunable optics, and CMOS compatibility can pave the way for breakthroughs in nanophotonics, optical metamaterials, and their applications. The symposium also focuses on exploring novel nonlinear and quantum phenomena, as well as advanced designs utilizing machine learning strategies and new simulation methods for metasurfaces, metamaterials, and plasmonic materials/devices.

As part of Symposium EL07, a Memorial Session will be held for Richard M. Osgood, Jr., who was a member of the MRS Council in the 1980s, a well-known researcher in plasmonics, Si photonics, and laser-induced photochemical reactions, and a contributor to MRS.  Professor Osgood passed away unexpectedly in late 2023. Papers in areas consistent with Symposium EL07’s Call for Papers and/or related to Prof. Osgood’s research areas will be considered.

Topics will include:

  • Plasmonics: Fundamental and applications
  • Advanced nanophotonics and metamaterials
  • Alternative plasmonic materials, epsilon-near-zero materials
  • Photonics with 2D Materials; All-dielectric metasurfaces
  • Active tunable plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Biological and chemical sensing with plasmonics and nanophotonics
  • Topological/Bound state in continuum based on metasurfaces
  • Quantum/Nonlinear/Thermal plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Photovoltaic applications and radiation engineering using plasmonics
  • Waveguides, devices and systems from plasmonics and nanophotonics
  • Plasmonic hot-carriers for photodetection and solar energy harvesting devices
  • Ultrafast dynamics of plasmonic nanosystems
  • On-demand pulse-shaping with plasmonics and metasurfaces
  • Nonreciprocal and non-Hermitian photonic metamaterials and metasurfaces

Invited Speakers:

  • Andrea Alù (The City College of New York, USA)
  • Harry Atwater (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Alexandra Boltasseva (Purdue University, USA)
  • Svetlana Boriskina (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Federico Capasso (Harvard University, USA)
  • Kuo-Ping Chen (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
  • Mu Ku Chen (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Dmitri Chigrin (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Javier García de Abajo (ICFO–The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  • Jennifer Dionne (Stanford University, USA)
  • Patrice Genevet (Colorado School of Mines, USA)
  • Seunghoon Han (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Ortwin Hess (Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin, Ireland)
  • Po-Chun Hsu (The University of Chicago, USA)
  • Min Seok Jang (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Boubacar Kanté (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Laura Kim (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Yuri Kivshar (The Australian National University, Australia)
  • Marina Leite (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Stefan A. Maier (Monash University, Australia)
  • Xingjie Ni (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Junsuk Rho (Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Vladimir M. Shalaev (Purdue University, USA)
  • Maxim Shcherbakov (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Junichi Takahara (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Jason Valentine (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Pin Chieh Wu (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)
  • Anatoly Zayat (King's College London, United Kingdom)
  • Yang Zhao (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yu-Jung Lu
Academia Sinica
Research Center for Applied Sciences

Viktoriia Babicheva
The University of New Mexico
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Howard Ho Wai Lee
University of California, Irvine
Department of Physics and Astronomy

Melissa Li
California Institute of Technology
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature