Symposium EN02-Thin Film Chalcogenides for Energy Applications

This symposium will focus on the theory, materials characterization, and electronic performance for thin film chalcogenide-based photovoltaic (PV) and photoelectrochemical (PEC) devices. Chalcogenide-based thin film solar cells have emerged as a genuine alternative to traditional silicon-based cells and have a wider range of applications such as for tandem, indoor-photovoltaics or building integrated PV. The symposium will comprise well-established industrial technologies CIGS and CdTe, along with emerging or high-potential materials such as, but not limited to, CZTS, Sb2(S,Se)3, SnS, Bi2S3, MoSe2, AgBiS2, Cu2ZnSnS4, Cu2BaSnS4, ketserite inspired compounds and chalcohlaide materials. We will also explore the overlaps where similar thin film chalcogenides are used as the basis for PEC devices for water splitting or CO2 reduction, a promising approach to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions and produce valuable chemical feedstocks. By considering both applications in the same symposium this will allow valuable discussions about what the two technologies can learn from each other, by identifying common approaches and limitations. The symposium will cover techniques for optimizing material properties and device structures, improving light absorption and charge transport, as well as approaches to mitigate degradation and to identify limiting defect mechanisms.

Topics will include:

  • Chalcogenides
  • Solar Cells
  • Photocatalysis
  • Thin Films
  • Semiconductors

Invited Speakers:

  • Julian Bachman (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
  • Robert Hoye (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Oliver Hutter (Northumbria University, United Kingdom)
  • Rafael Jaramillo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Keith McKenna (University of York, United Kingdom)
  • Qingbo Meng (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • David Mitzi (Duke University, USA)
  • Ilona Oja Acik (TalTech, Estonia)
  • Alejandro Pérez-Rodríguez (Institut de Recerca en Energia de Catalunya, Spain)
  • Matt Reese (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Alessandro Romeo (Università degli Studi di Verona, Italy)
  • Sascha Sadewasser (International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory, Portugal)
  • David Scanlon (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Byungha Shin (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • David Tilley (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Hao Xin (Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China)
  • Gang Xiong (First Solar, USA)
  • Feng Yan (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Yanfa Yan (The University of Toledo, USA)
  • Wooseok Yang (Sungkyunkwan University, USA)
  • Shujie Zhou (University of New South Wales, Australia)

Symposium Organizers

Jon Major
University of Liverpool
Department of Physics
United Kingdom

Natalia Maticiuc
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Nicolae Spalatu
Tallinn University of Technology
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Lydia Wong
Nanyang Technological University
School of Materials Science and Engineering

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature