Symposium SB13-Soft Materials for Harsh Environments

This symposium will delve into the transformative impact of soft materials on electronics for extreme environments, redefining our approach, particularly in aerospace applications. Extreme environments, characterized by factors such as ionizing and non-ionizing radiation, temperature cycling, vacuum, and atomic oxygen, pose unique challenges for electronics. Recent insights have reshaped our understanding and highlighted that while traditional semiconductors tolerate these stressors, they lack the lightweight, flexible, and cost-effective attributes offered by soft materials.

While the symposium will primarily focus on soft materials, it will also incorporate talks on the effects of extremes on traditional materials. This intentional cross-pollination aims to spark innovative ideas for discovering the next generation of soft, reconfigurable materials tailored for applications in these challenging conditions. Metal-halide perovskite and organic semiconductors will be specifically discussed. Expert discussions will cover topics such as radiation tolerance, self-healing properties, and efficient packaging designs, with abstract submissions encouraged in areas including radiation tolerance of perovskites and organic semiconductors, next-gen concepts for extreme-tolerant soft materials, lightweight device architectures using traditional semiconductors, and robust packaging designs.

Topics will include:

  • Next-generation electronics for harsh environments
  • Radiation-tolerant perovskite, organic, and low-dimensional semiconductors
  • Mechanistic understanding of self healing
  • Radiation detection and temperature sensing using soft materials
  • Radiation tolerant biofilms and biomaterials
  • Space effects in biological systems
  • Thermal and mechanical stressing
  • Lightweight packaging for harsh environments
  • Technoeconomic analysis for next-generation space electronics
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Antonio Abate (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Niaz Abdolrahim (University of Rochester, USA)
  • Christos Athanasiou (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Mario Borunda (Oklahoma State University, USA)
  • Jean-Luc Bredas (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Sergio Brovelli (Università degli Studi Milano-Bicocca, Italy)
  • Stefania Cacovich (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France)
  • Jeffery Chancellor (Louisiana State University, USA)
  • Giles Eperon (Swift Solar Inc., USA)
  • Beatrice Fraboni (Università di Bologna, Italy)
  • Sean Garner (Corning Incorporated, USA)
  • Aman Haque (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Jinsong Huang (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Seth Hubbard (Rochester Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Stephen Jesse (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Oana Jurchescu (Wake Forest University, USA)
  • Yosuke Kanai (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Arkady Krasheninnikov (Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany)
  • Lyndsey McMillon-Brown (NASA, USA)
  • Wanyi Nie (University of Buffalo, US)
  • Sokrates Pantelides (Vanderbilt University, USA)
  • Adam Printz (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Bibhudutta Rout (University of North Texas, USA)
  • Laura Schelhas (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Michael Short (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Samuel Stranks (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Xueju Wang (University of Connecticut, USA)
  • William Weber (The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA)
  • Narges Yaghoobi Nia (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)

Symposium Organizers

Ahmad Kirmani
Rochester Institute of Technology
School of Chemistry and Materials Science
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Felix Lang
University of Potsdam
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Joseph Luther
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Ian Sellers

University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

Department of Physics & Astronomy

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature