2022 MRS Spring Meeting & Exhibit Landing Banner

Symposium X—Frontiers of Materials Research

Thursday, May 12
12:15 pm – 1:15 pm
Hawaiʻi Convention Center, Level 4, Kalakaua Ballroom B


This event was livestreamed on our Virtual Meeting platform.


Shirley Meng

Y. Shirley Meng
The University of Chicago

From Atom to System—Tera-Scale Energy Transition with Better Batteries

High energy long life rechargeable battery is considered as key enabling technology for deep de-carbonization. Energy storage in the electrochemical form is attractive because of its high efficiency and fast response time. Besides the technological importance, electrochemical devices also provide a unique platform for fundamental and applied materials research since ion movement is often accompanied by inherent complex phenomena related to phase changes, electronic structure changes and defect generation. In this seminar, Meng discussed a few new perspectives for energy storage materials including new fast ion conductors, new intercalation compounds and their interfacial engineering. With recent advances in characterization tools and computational methods, we are able to explore ionic mobility, charge transfer and phase transformations in electrode materials in-operando, and map out the structure-properties relations in functional materials for next generation energy storage and conversion. Meng also discussed a few future priority research directions for electrochemical energy storage.

In this MRS TV interview from the 2022 MRS Spring Meeting, Y. Shirley Meng of The University of Chicago, discusses her talk, "From Atom to System—Tera-Scale Energy Transaction with Better Batteries." Her talk, while of broad interest to the whole of the materials science community, has a particular focus in electrochemical energy storage.

About Y. Shirley Meng

Y. Shirley Meng is currently a professor of molecular engineering at the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering. She serves as the Chief Scientist of the Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science (ACCESS) Argonne National Laboratory. Meng is the principal investigator of the research group Laboratory for Energy Storage and Conversion (LESC). Meng has received several prestigious awards, including the Faraday Medal of Royal Chemistry Society (2020), International Battery Association Battery IBA Research Award (2019), Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists Finalist (2018), C.W. Tobias Young Investigator Award of the Electrochemical Society (2016) and NSF CAREER Award (2011). Meng is elected Fellow of Electrochemical Society (ECS), Materials Research Society (MRS) and American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). She is the Editor-in-Chief for MRS Energy & Sustainability

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature

Symposium Support