2020 MRS Fall Meeting

Call for Papers

Symposium EL08—Frontiers of Halide Perovskites—Linking Fundamental Properties to Devices

Halide perovskites (HPs) have catalyzed a revolution in (opto)electronic devices including solar cells, light-emitting devices, lasers, optical amplifiers, photo-/X-ray/radiation detectors, memristors, and transistors. HPs are a broad family of materials that exhibit wide tunability in their chemical composition from organic to inorganic as well as the crystal-structure dimensionality from 3D to 0D, endowing these materials with a variety of properties. In particular, perovskite-based solar cells have reached certified power conversion efficiencies beyond 25 % and emerged as a game-changing photovoltaic technology. Furthermore, HPs exhibit unusual physical/chemical behaviors that are rarely seen in other materials systems. While much of the early research focused on improving device performance, there is an ever-increasing fraction of the field focusing on enhancing the fundamental understanding of the physics, chemistry and materials science underpinning these HP materials, devices and further critical technological developments. This symposium will cover topics at the forefront of fundamental and applied understanding driving the development of devices and new applications (see list below). Critically, we will seek to enable new links between fields: theory driving experiment and vice versa, fundamental links between properties through multimodal investigations, and connecting fundamental properties to operating devices through in-operando and in-situ characterization. This symposium will therefore stimulate efforts to advance the state-of-knowledge of perovskites and the development of high-performance devices.

Topics will include:

  • Materials/defect theory and characterization of halide perovskites
  • Single crystals, thin films and nanocrystals of halide perovskites in different dimensions: 3D, 2D, 2D/3D, 1D and 0D
  • Lead-free, low-dimensional (2D/1D/0D), and new perovskite and perovskite-inspired materials
  • Synthetic science (nucleation, crystallization, and microstructural evolution) of halide perovskites
  • Physiochemical properties of halide perovskites including dielectric, ferroelectric, piezoelectric, thermoelectric, and electrochromic
  • Surface/interface/nano science of halide perovskites including new nano- and micro-scale characterization techniques
  • Charge-carrier dynamics, transport and optical processes in halide perovskites
  • Device physics and performances in optoelectronic devices
  • In-situ, in-operando and multimodal studies connecting critical properties and behavior
  • Degradation, stabilization and ion migration mechanisms in halide perovskites
  • Emerging perovskite applications including those exploiting spin, electrochemical, quantum and mixed electronic/ionic conduction

Invited Speakers:

  • Felix Deschler (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Giles Eperon (Swift Solar/National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Ana Flavia Nogueira (University of Campinas, Brazil)
  • David Ginger (University of Washington, USA)
  • Jinsong Huang (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Bryan Huey (University of Connecticut, USA)
  • Michael Irwin (Hunt Energy, USA)
  • Mercouri Kanatzidis (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Hemamala Karunadasa (Stanford University, USA)
  • Claudine Katan (University of Rennes, France)
  • Maksym Kovalenko (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Marina Leite (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Shengzhong Liu (Shaanxi Normal University, China)
  • Olga Malinkiewicz (Saule Technologies, Poland)
  • Rebecca Milot (University of Warwick, United Kingdom)
  • Laura Miranda (Oxford PV, United Kingdom)
  • Ivan Mora-sero (Universitat Jaume I, Spain)
  • Nakita Noel (Princeton University, USA)
  • Sang-Il Seok (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Qing Shen (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan)
  • Tze-Chien Sum (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Mike Toney (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA)
  • Alison Walker (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
  • Aron Walsh (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Jingbi You (Institute of Semiconductor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Ni Zhao (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Alex Zunger (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Samuel Stranks
University of Cambridge
Physics / Chemical Engineering & Biotechnology
United Kingdom
00441223337288, sds65@cam.ac.uk

Laura Herz
University of Oxford
United Kingdom

Yabing Qi
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit (EMSSU)
0081-98-966-2184, Yabing.Qi@OIST.jp

Yuanyuan Zhou
Brown University