Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium EQ12-Optical Probes of Nanostructured, Organic and Hybrid Materials

The central objective of this symposium is to discuss the use of light to induce and to probe processes in nanostructured, organic, and hybrid semiconductor materials. Advanced spectroscopies, that not only give temporal, spectral, and/or spatial insight into optoelectronic materials, but also permit manipulation of light-matter interactions via nonlinear optical response, are now critical characterization tools in materials science. This symposium emphasizes optical spectroscopy as a key probe of fundamental material properties, as well as the leading tool to explore materials where emergent light-matter interactions form the basis of practical applications. It provides a platform for material scientists to explore the convergence of established and emerging spectroscopic techniques for contemporary material characterization and development.

Topics will include:

  • Photophysical processes at interfaces
  • Strong light-matter interactions and quantum phenomena
  • Excited states in nanocrystals, nano-platelets and low-dimensional materials
  • Light-induced phenomena in hybrid perovskites
  • Excitonic processes in organic materials
  • Spectroscopic insights to bioelectronics
  • Insights from advanced spectroscopic tools
  • Spatio-temporally resolved optical probes of materials
  • Novel theoretical approaches to many-body phenomena
  • Theoretical frameworks for excited-state dynamics

Invited Speakers:

  • Matthew Beard (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Jenny Clark (The University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
  • Elisabetta Collini (Università degli Studi di Padova, Italy)
  • Steven Cundiff (University of Michigan, USA)
  • David Ginger (University of Washington, USA)
  • Naomi Ginsberg (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Feliciano Giustino (Oxford University, United Kingdom)
  • Matthew Graham (Oregon State University, USA)
  • Sophia Hayes (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
  • Felipe Herrera (Universidad de Santiago de Chile, Chile)
  • Libai Huang (Purdue University, USA)
  • Cherie Kagan (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Stéphane Kéna-Cohen (Polytechnique Montréal, Canada)
  • Jenny Nelson (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Tammie Nelson (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • John Reynolds (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Jiri Vanicek (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Cathy Wong (University of Oregon, USA)
  • Kaifeng Wu (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Nobuhiro Yanai (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Joel Yuen-Zhao (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Xiao-Yang Zhu (Columbia University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Natalie Banerji
University of Bern

Ilaria Bargigia
Wake Forest University
Department of Physics, Olin Physical Laboratory

Carlos Silva
Georgia Institute of Technology
School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Physics

Mark W.B. Wilson
University of Toronto
Department of Chemistry

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support