Late News—Hot Topics Abstracts were due September 3.
Authors will be notified by mid-September.

Symposium EN10-Advanced Materials for Thermal Energy Management and Harvesting

Thermal energy transport and utilization play crucial roles in applications ranging from water harvesting, low-energy buildings, power generation, thermoelectrics for waste heat recovery, energy storage, to thermal management for electronics, personal and energy systems. Thermal management is the key enabling further miniaturization of electronic system, improving the reliability and efficiency of high-power electronics and energy conversion and storage systems. Novel materials and characterization techniques have enabled new performance regimes and mechanisms for thermal transport beyond Fourier’s law and phonon gas picture.

This symposium will focus on opportunities and strategies that utilize advancement in materials research for thermal energy management and harvesting applications. Common themes will include but not limited to thermoelectric materials, radiative cooling, thermal management using phase change and solid-state transport processes, materials for personal and building thermal management, and thermal energy conversion and storage. The symposium will combine simulations, characterizations and material designs to advance science and technology in thermal energy management and harvesting.

Topics will include:

  • Thermoelectric materials
  • Thermal energy conversion and storage
  • Thermal radiation
  • Phase change and solid-state thermal transport
  • Computational methods for next-generation thermal materials
  • Emerging approaches for thermal management and harvesting
  • Novel Characterizations of thermal materials

Invited Speakers:

  • David Cahill (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Yi Cui (Stanford University, USA)
  • Ryan Enright (Nokia Bell Labs, Ireland)
  • Samuel Graham (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Asegun Henry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Patrick Hopkins (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Nenad Miljkovic (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Pamela Norris (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Georgia Papadakis (ICFO–The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Spain)
  • Dimos Poulikakos (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • David Quéré (École Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles, France)
  • Aaswath Raman (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Junichiro Shiomi (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Jeff Snyder (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Ying Sun (Drexel University, USA)
  • Doris Vollmer (Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany)
  • Evelyn N. Wang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Zuankai Wang (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Yoonjin Won (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Tiejun Zhang (Khalifa University, United Arab Emirates)
  • Jia Zhu (Nanjing University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Mona Zebarjadi
University of Virginia

Youngsuk Nam
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Republic of Korea

Yuan Yang
Columbia University

Yangying Zhu
University of California, Santa Barbara
Mechanical Engineering

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support